My Crowdfunding Campaign

My crowdfunding campaign after 3 month is coming to an end. As there are 3 more days to go, am thinking on how it all started.

In May I read an article about crowdfunding, the possibilities it offers and just loved the idea. I saw it as a way to have people more engaged in the making of a music album. By following updates they can follow the process, comment on it, share ideas,get personalized perks. The perk idea is great as one can decide in what way you would like to contribute.You can get a private concert, be a music producer or just have ready gifts for family, friends etc. My previous albums were funded by companies who would sponsor the album and receive a certain number of CDs to give away as gifts – basically a similar concept.

As being  a new concept  I was curious about how people will react to it and also how I will manage it, the key word being „campaign“ .  It’s been very interesting to see people’s initial reactions and the psychology behind it and there have been a few surprises along the way. Every 2-3 weeks I posted music videos from the album and with each music video prepared a brief video speech on the piece to introduce the music. The reactions to that have been great. Apparently I’m a good actor!

Perks had to be built up gradually so that was the difficult part.  I did some research on what other campaigns were offering and then just let my imagination run. I do believe I spent most of the preparation time on choosing the perks – trying to meet people’s expectations and wishes.

It’s a great idea –I believe it does have a future for classical musicians. It allows you creative freedom in deciding what and how to record, but also demands lots of work and „non-musical“ skills: PC, internet knowledge, good networking base etc. Am sure more and more musicians will look into this option.

Here is the beautiful Thais Meditation music video I prepared for the campaign:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • September 2011
    M T W T F S S
        Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Twitter updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 18 other followers

  • Archives

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events

